Tripura: BJP declares heads of urban bodies, Deepak Majumder new AMC Mayor

Agartala: Ending all speculations, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party announced the names of the heads of all the Urban Local Bodies including Agartala Municipal Corporation. BJP State President Dr Manik Saha announced the matter in a late night press conference. Saha informed the press that senior BJP leader Deepak Majumder will head prestigious Agartala Municipal Corporation.

The Rise East broke the story earlier in the day and finally the party approved the news item published in the Rise East as hundred percent authentic.   
Speaking with media persons at BJP state headquarters here this evening, party’s state president Prof Dr Manik Saha said “The urban local bodies concluded recently where we have achieved victory with the blessings of common masses”.
“After the election, several rounds of meeting took place for selection of Mayor and chairpersons under the chairmanship of Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma”, he added.

Dr Saha said that the committee sent the names of elected representatives to the central leadership. They have granted us the name of Deepak Majumder for the post of Mayor in AMC.

The swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected representatives of Agartala Municipal Corporation along with 13 Municipal Councils and 6 Nagar Panchayats has been scheduled to hold on December 08 and 09 next, he also added.

The names of chairpersons in 13 Municipal Councils are- Pradyut Dey Sarkar of Dharmanagar, Biswajit Das of Kumarghat, Chapala Dey Roy of Kailashahar, Mamata Das of Ambassa, Swapna Majumder Baidya of Santirbazar, Nikhil Chandra Gope of Belonia, Sital Chandra Majumder of Udaipur, Anamika Ghosh of Melaghar, Aparna Sukla Das of Ranirbazar, Anita Debnath of Mohanpur, Debasish Nath Sharma of Khowai and Rupak Sarkar of Teliamura.

The names of chairpersons in six Nagar Panchayats are- Anuradha Das of Panisagar, Prasanta Sinha of Kamalpur, Rama Podder Dey of Sabroom, Ratan Kumar Das of Jirania, Sarada Chakraborty of Sonamura, and Bikash Saha of Amarpur.

Another elected representative of AMC, Monika Das Datta has been nominated by the BJP Mahila Morcha for the post of Deputy Mayor.
A senior BJP leader informed “The name of Deepak Majumder was one of the most discussed names for the post of Mayor in Agartala Municipal Corporation. Along with him, Prof Alok Bhattacharjee’s name was also discussed, but BJP national president Nadda sealed the Deepak’s name for the post of Mayor”.

It is worthy to mention here that Deepak Majumder was the chairman of Tripura Road and Transport Corporation (TRTC) after the formation of the BJP-led coalition government. He has been elected from Ward Number-16 of AMC.

He was also the chairperson of Agartala Municipal Council for two years from 1998 to 2000.
Remarkably, BJP had won 329 seats out of 334 in the recently concluded elections in 20 urban local bodies while the saffron party formed government in these bodies. In Agartala Municipal Corporation, BJP has won all 51 seats.