Tripura Chronicle wins media cricket tournament

Agartala, Mar 04: Tripura Chronicle has won the one-day media cricket tournament organized by Agartala Press Club on Friday.

The team Tripura Chronicle played against News Vanguard-A in the final. Total 11 teams had participated in the tournament held at Bholagiri ground in Agartala.

President of Agartala Press Club Subal Kumar Dey inaugurated the cricket tournament in presence of joint secretary of the club and convener of sports sub-committee Debabrata Chakraborty.

After the final match, secretary of Agartala Press Club Pranab Sarkar handed over the trophies to the champion and runners up teams. Bapan Das has been awarded player of the tournament. Sukanta Saha, Bapan Hossain and Alauddin were the umpires and scorers during the tournament.

Earlier the Agartala Press Club organized other sports events like Ludo, Chinese Checkers, Badminton, Chess, Table Tennis and Carom among the working journalists. A good number of journalists including women participated in the sports events.

A press release said that an exhibition cricket match of the women journalists and friendly match between two teams- White and Blue of the Agartala Press Club would be held at Bholagiri ground on Sunday next.