Modi Govt Confers Padma Bhusan Award To WB Former CM & CPM Leader Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee

New Delhi: The former chief minister of West bengal and CPM leader Shri Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee has conferred with one of the highest civillian awards, Padma Bhusan Awards for his contribution in the the sector of Public Affairs. The union home ministry on Tuesday announced the Padma Awards of this year ahead of Republic Day celebration.

Among other honours, late General Bipin Rawat and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kalyan Singh have been awarded the Padma Vibhushan. Actor Victor Chatterjee has conferred with  Padma Bhusan Award.

The Padma Bhushan will also be conferred on Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella, Alphabet CEO Sundar Pichai and SII MD Cyrus Poonawalla.

Padma Awards, one of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories — Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. The awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at RashtrapatiBhawan usually around March/ April every year. This year the President has approved conferment of 128 Padma Awards including 2 duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one) as per list below. The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards.  34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.